IF YOU HAVE GOT IT FLAUNT IT

IF YOU HAVE GOT IT FLAUNT IT

If you have got it flaunt it. That has been my motto in life since I gave up being at the back as a youngster. When I realised I was missing all the fun by being in significant so I changed direction. I learned it is always all happening in the front and that was the best place for me to be – in the front.

It would seem this is the philosophy of my friend Katie Holland too. She is certainly at the fron of everything in her life at the moment.  She talks about loving your curves and showing them off.  Maybe that is what dancing does for you…..

Flaunt means to brag about, show off, crow about and parade. I suppose I might be a bit of a show off. You have to speak up to get noticed and it is a big big world to try to get ahead.

Katie Holland has worked hard and done well as teacher, dancer, choreographer and whole lot more. So she has certainly flaunted it (her talents) as you might say. She began dancing at the age of three.

With 20 years experience of Arab/Egyptian Dance, Katie also studied Ballet, Tap, Modern, African, Samba, Bollywood, Sacred Nepalese, Bellydance, Gurdjieff Sacred dances, as well as Yoga, Laughter Yoga and holistic therapies and is currently studying Bharatnatyam . Highly sought after as a professional teacher, choreographer and performer across India and Europe, Katie has taught and performed in many countries.

She regularly performs with Arab and fusion musicians including Hossam and Serena Ramzy, Jon Sterckx, Guy Schalom and the Baladi Blues and Simon Webster and was featured in a music video with BBC World Music Award winning master maestro Abhishek Basu and his band ISM.

Regarded as one of the best foreign dancers in India she is the brand dancer for Coca Cola India and has performed at countless high profile weddings and events with Sukhbir, Infra-Red, for Shaan, Salman Khan, Madhuri Dixit, Priyanka Chopra, Yash Chopra, Vijay Malia, at the Indian Football Awards, IFFI, and corporate companies including Samsung, Sony, Google, Volvo, Honda, Moet Chandon and Vodafone.

Katie has featured on various Asian TV channels including live on FTV, national newspapers and is currently based in Delhi, India working on dance projects and organising Barefoot dance and yoga retreats in Goa. This is quite an achievement for a British dancer receiving acclaim in a country that invented Indian dances.

SHAKTI PANTS

This week Katie wrote to me from India about her Shakti pants. It was all new to me and as someone interested in UK fashion, I was keen to hear more. Katie and I had been friends for sometime before she began travelling the world or teaching and I was surprised she is now living in Dehli India.

These day I live in trousers so I took a  fancy to the black Shakti pants with pom poms. I am always interested in something a bit different.

Unless you have looked at Shakti trousers on FACEBOOK you may not know what I am talking about.  You would certainly be noticed in these pants at your ladies circle. (http://www.facebook.com/pages/Shakti-Pants-love-your-curves-show-them-off-in-style/107426232624360 and https://madmimi.com/p/b21515

I was unable to reproduce the photos she sent me but they are all there on FACEBOOK.  I thought the pants would be all the rage for the slim young women with tatooes on their feet. But realising  these are available in all sizes – s,m,l, xl and xxl, I thought there is hope for me.

These pants are available in nice colours and they also highlight beautiful bottoms in more than one way.  There was an age when ladies wore bustles to make a feature of their posteriors.  So if you have a beautiful bottom show it off. Why not walk with slight swagger if you really want to get noticed and flaunt it.

Yes I would wear them as they are different and in my book age is but number. I could see myself in some washable cotton lycra black pants dancing along to background music with my pom poms. There are even pompom belts if you want to get into the spirit of things plus tops and wraps.

So I will leave you with the thought… Katie is an email away and  will be pleased to help my friends who want to  enjoy their bodies with a little realisation and a pair of Shakti pants. I even love the name.  (Katie Holland <katie.holland@hotmail.co.uk>) Better tell her I gave you her email.

 

Leave a Reply

